365 Days · Short Stories

239 – The Wall (A Very Short Story)

I knew it was going to be like this standing in the sea breeze, on the other side of the wall. With you in there, not knowing I am out here at all.

But still I came, hoping you remember my name and can feel me here out here in the cold, with you in there because somehow everything went wrong.

I knew this would feel awful, like standing at a grave, but worse. Because I can still feel you breathing here in my heart, with just this wall keeping us apart.

I’m here outside because I knew it would feel exactly like this. Like nothing I ever thought I would ever feel, but it is as close I can get now to feeling like what you and I had was real.

So I came to feel just like this; and even though you don’t know that I am standing right outside I hope you can feel me here wanting to share just one kiss with you.

There is nothing I can see myself ever wanting more than for the two of us to be standing on the same side of this wall.

Leave a Reply

