365 Days · Poetry

97 – To A Dad Who Left

I get that you’re angry
And I’m sorry for it
But you did this to us
You took us apart and
Now that my heart is
Healed with no scar
You can’t understand
How I might have been
Able to come this far
Without your input
I used to pray that
You would come back
But you didn’t and now
That I’m someone I am
Really proud of you can’t
Take any credit for that
Which must hurt a little
But there isn’t any point
To regretting when you
Could have tried harder
Now there’s no forgetting
All about you and the
Things you didn’t do
All this time you were
Someone else’s, not mine
I made up for you though
As much as I could like any
Child without a father should

2 thoughts on “97 – To A Dad Who Left

Leave a Reply

