365 Days · Poetry

83 – Not A Disaster

This body is a betrayer
It doesn’t do what I say
It takes my biggest weakness and puts it on display

Not even when I say “Please”
Is it even remotely easy
To forget that something life-changing happened to me

Then just when I do forget
“What happened to your leg?”
I became a pirate and exchanged it for a wooden peg

“Oh wow, you’re so strong”
Actually you are wrong
Sometimes there is no other choice but to go on

So I work a little harder
To prove I’m not a disaster
To make like I don’t live with something no one asks for

But I’m here, glad not to have died
I’ve found strength where weakness lies
A humble truth in being able to say “I survived”

5 thoughts on “83 – Not A Disaster

Leave a Reply

