365 Days · Poetry

72 – A Lie In Your Eye

Let me for a moment compare
A lie to a sty in your eyelashes
We’re all not talking about it
For the mere point of avoiding
The awkward conversation
Though we’re all thinking it
That we hope we never get one
The sty speaks right to me
And says “I can’t trust you
With this kind of reality,
You’re not my cup of tea”
So I say “You know what sty?
If you’re intent on being rash
That’s more than entirely fine”
But you can’t borrow my liner
Or my brushes, or my creams
I refuse to paint myself stupid
From catching a lying disease

One thought on “72 – A Lie In Your Eye

Leave a Reply

