365 Days · Poetry

59 – One Chance

I wrote a love poem
Responding to your love poem
I read your words and
Wanted to love somebody
So your love poem
Became the object of
My love poem’s affections
With the exception that
I don’t know if I fully know
What it feels like or how it reads
So I just keep swimming
In moustache metaphors
A good hiding place
For a face you want to hide
A hairy mask that grows
Quicker than any nose
Which isn’t lovely at all
But it’s all I can think about
So instead I say nothing
‘Cause the fear of not knowing
Isn’t worse than the fear
Of having one chance
And saying it all wrong

 

5 thoughts on “59 – One Chance

Leave a Reply

