365 Days · Poetry

13 – To A Poet

Your words make me feel
Like every sentence was
Strung together for my eyes

Your eloquent observations
Are familiar conversations
Of places I have been

I think you’ve seen something
Just the way I have seen it
Like two halves in two places

Your words reach to me
They hold my hand
And we talk for hours

About flowers, and Lego, and Jay Z
About how sometimes getting it all wrong
Is just the right way to be

I’m having a love affair with your poetry
In case you couldn’t already tell
And I don’t expect it to end well

But while your pages hold messages
For as long as they’ll have me
The affair will go on – secretly

2 thoughts on “13 – To A Poet

Leave a Reply

