Poetry

Here’s to the Good Bitches!

Here’s to the good bitches!
They don’t necessarily know who they are
Not even when they’re folding a wheelchair
To fit in the boot of the car
They don’t know that their smile
Tugs the strings on my heart
With a quick-witted slip of the tongue
Or the offensive stench of a fart

Here’s to the good bitches!
The ones from whence I came
The ones who gave me their temper
The one who gave me a name
“I’ll never be like my mother” I said
Quiet your mouth
You’ll be changed when she’s dead
So Mum, this bit’s for you
The beginning and the end
I hope you know you’ll always be
My favourite and very first friend

Here’s to the good bitches!
Who tell me it’s okay when I cry
Who let me rant and rave
And wave my hands
And forgive me when I lie
I believe we knew each other before you see
When we were souls
All clean and Heavenly
You made me a promise
That you’d find me on Earth
Just didn’t know when
So we started at birth
And here we are, like no time has passed
Laughing in tears, together at last

Here’s to the good bitches!
That fit in the palm of my hand
Who I can count on all of five fingers
Who anchor my heart to the land
The original gangsters
The toilet paper pranksters
Part of you is here to be mine
To you my few, it’s sadly true
As stated in this sensible rhyme

Some good bitches know they’re good bitches
Like the ones who teach me their ways
Who share their wisdom and knowledge
And pass on some of their craze
The good bitches who are all really pretty
But tell you you’re pretty as well
The good bitches who buy you coffee
Or drag you crying out of your shell
The ones who find your wallet
And give it back to you on the street
The ones who intercept your fall
When you drunkenly trip over your feet

Here’s to the good bitches!
Trapped next to me as I died
When my clothes were cut off for life-saving
Stripping me down to my pride
“Lucky she’s a big girl” they said
If she were smaller she’d be already dead
So thank you for loving me
Before the weight loss
When I was somewhat more jolly
And ate like a Boss
Thank you for having me
And letting me talk
Also for standing beside me
Now that I cannot walk

Thank you for taking the old
Right alongside the new
Even though what you have to say
May not always be easy to chew
Here’s to the times we’re together
And to the time we’re apart
You were a good bitch before birth
And I knew it right from the start
You are an inspiration you know
In the dark, where no light can be found
You’re the crack, that lets in some sun
In music you are the sound

So here’s to you, good bitches!
With this pact of proverbial spit
Raise up your glass for the years that have passed
Pretty sure we’ve always been a perfect fit

Leave a Reply

