Poetry

Tell Him You’re Long Gone

You have lost me
Do you understand
When you beat me
And wrote the list
Of all my faults
I turned around
And ran in the direction
You pushed me
I love you
But I don’t mind
That you aren’t here
When you abandoned me
Without a word
Or single utterance
I waited and hoped
You just held the wound open
And my heart bled
Bloody questions without answers
I have grieved
For what got left behind
I can smile now
At Kodak moments
Without tears
So there’s nothing here
To come back to
No portable slice of home
Not familiar arms
To offer comfort
And I miss you stupid
But even I can’t deny
The conjoined relief
That we don’t know each other
Anymore

One thought on “Tell Him You’re Long Gone

Leave a Reply

